Maria Sanchez


Maria is the Director of Grantmaking and Community Investment for the American Savings Foundation in New Britain where for more than 15 years she has been in charge of shaping the Foundation's rapidly growing grants program and manages the Foundation’s initiatives. She has more than 25 years’ experience in nonprofit management, program development and evaluation, and grant-making. Maria is also Chair of the Grants Committee.

Carmen Cid

Vice President

Carmen Cid is the Dean of the School of Arts and Sciences at Eastern Connecticut State University. She has won numerous awards for her ecology teaching/scholarship, and in 2017 was elected a Fellow of the Ecological Society of America for her national leadership in improving recruitment and retention of women and minorities in the sciences. She lives in Wethersfield. Cid joined the Board in 2014. In 2017, Carmen stepped up to be President.

Christopher G. Aroh


Christopher G. Aroh, CPA, is a partner with Cohn Reznick and has more than 16 years of diversified public accounting experience. He joined our Board of Trustees in 2012 and immediately signed on to the Finance Committee. He assumed the position of Chair of that Committee in 2013, and stepped up to become the Treasurer of the Fund in 2014

Kim Russo

Secretary, Executive Director

Kimberley Russo served as Director of Community Investment for United Way of Central and Northeastern Connecticut for more than 10 years. Russo previously worked as a program manager for Meriden-Wallingford Chrysalis and as a residential services coordinator for Domestic Violence Resource Center of South County in Rhode Island. Kimberley became the Executive Director of The Fund for Greater Hartford in September 2015. Kim is Secretary of the Board.


Diane Cantello


Diane is the Vice President of Corporate Sustainability at The Hartford and has previously held leadership roles in Social Responsibility, Communications and Marketing. Originally from the UK, Diane has spent the past twenty years of her career in the Hartford area. She joined The Fund for Greater Hartford Board of Trustees in 2019, and is a member of the Finance Committee.

Erika Frank


Erika Frank is a Community Investments Officer at the Hartford Foundation for Public Giving where she is part of the team responsible for managing the Foundation’s broad-based, responsive grant making as well as its Career Pathways Initiative and summer program investments. Prior to joining the Foundation she held positions as classroom teacher and assistant to strategic partnership development at Hartford Public Schools. Erika is a member of the Grants Committee.

Lorenzo Marshall


Lorenzo Marshall, a former teacher, is the Director of Workforce Development at the Middlesex Chamber of Commerce. In that position, he coordinates all workforce initiatives and youth programs including the Summer Youth Employment Program. Lorenzo joined the Board in 2015 and is a member of the Grants Committee.

Raheem Mullins


The Honorable Raheem L. Mullins became a judge of the Appellate Court on May 6, 2014. Prior to this appointment, Judge Mullins served as a Judge of the Superior Court. Prior to his appointment to the bench, Judge Mullins was an Assistant State’s Attorney for the Appellate Bureau, Division of Criminal Justice, in Rocky Hill, and an Assistant Attorney General in the Child Protection Division in Hartford. Raheem is a member of the Governance Committee.

Nina Elgo


The Honorable Nina Elgo was appointed Judge of the Connecticut Appellate Court in May 2017. In addition to her prior assignments as a Superior Court Judge to the civil division in Hartford and presiding judge in the child protection session, she was appointed by Governor Malloy to represent the judicial branch at the 2013 Three Branch Institute on Child Social and Emotional Well-Being Initiative. In her years on the Judicial Education Committee, she has also supported programming for judges on the issue of trauma and trauma informed practices by bringing in medical experts from the Child Health & Development Institute and Harvard University’s Center on the Developing Child. She was elected to the Board of Trustees of The Fund for Greater Hartford in 2010. Nina served a two year term as President and a one year term as Vice-President. Nina is currently the Chair of the Governance Committee.

Carl R. Ficks


Carl R. Ficks, Jr. is a partner with Halloran & Sage LLP and has practiced law in the Greater Hartford community for over 25 years. For three years, he served as Vice-President of Corporate & Donor Relations for a regional specialty hospital. Carl has a long history of non-profit board service and was elected to the Board of Trustees of The Fund for Greater Hartford in 2017. Carl is a member of the Governance Committee.

Janel Simpson


Janel Simpson is the Deputy Commissioner at the Department of Social Services. She started at the Department as Director of Field Operations in 2013 after a career in the insurance industry. She lives in Unionville. She joined the Board of Trustees in 2015. Janel is a member of the Governance Committee.

Glenn A. Cassis


Glenn A. Cassis was the Executive Director of the State of Connecticut African-American Affairs Commission (AAAC) from August 2006 until June 2016 (retired). Prior to joining the AAAC Mr. Cassis, a Bloomfield resident, was the Executive Director of the Connecticut Pre-Engineering Program, Inc. (CPEP) for twenty years. Prior to CPEP, Mr. Cassis spent ten years as Director of the Campus Center and Student Activities at the Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts. Mr. Cassis began his professional career at Oakland University in Rochester, Michigan. Mr. Cassis is active in several professional and non-profit organizations. He is a member of the Bloomfield Education Foundation, the Southern New England Association of Technical Professionals, the Greater New England Alliance of Black School Educators, a board member of United Way of Connecticut and co-chairs the UConn African-American Alumni Council. Glenn has received several awards including the NAACP’s 100 Most Influential African-Americans in Connecticut and Honorary Member of the Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering. Glenn has joined the Finance Committee.

Leslie Robertson

Leslie Robertson


Leslie has enjoyed a distinguished career in the commercial banking arena, most notably with Bank of America, Webster Bank, and with TD Bank (Toronto Dominion). Much of his work is focused on working with US subsidiaries of European multinational firms located in Connecticut, New England, and New York, helping these commercial and industrial clients gain greater access to this marketplace, and to be successful for the long term here in the Americas. Leslie is on the Executive Board of the World Affairs Council of Connecticut, (past President), and has served as Chairman of the Metro Alliance's Global Business Council. Leslie has also served on the Board of Directors of the United Way of Central and Northeastern Connecticut, including a term as Chairman of Allocations, and has an active interest in community and philanthropic affairs. Leslie is a member of the Finance Committee.